34 W. Merchant Street, Audubon, NJ 08106

Reviews

Review your experience at Crux Cafe using the box below or scroll down further to view recent customer testimonials.

Posted 9/28/16 – a little biased

So I will start by saying I am a little biased in my review because I live down the street from Crux and have been going since they opened.  It is convenient, consistent and very good overall especially when I want to go out for dinner locally and can walk if i choose to.   So with that disclaimer aside here s what I think of Crux…… (also I am under 50 as referenced by another post)

Location:  Easy parking, outdoor seating available, cute decor and gives the appearance of more upscale BUT is casual.  This is not a large restaurant but is very comfy.  Also BYOB.

Chef:  Have met him numerous times and he seems genuinely concerned about his guests and and their experience.

Food:  Not a large menu and changes seasonally with locally sourced vegetables, which alleviates menu fatigue for frequent patrons, but has a nice mix of seafood, meats and pastas.  I have had the pork, duck, lamb, salmon and he makes a mean risotto especially the Paella Risotto.   One thing that is important to note is (as I mentioned) is the consistent high quality of the meal and the presentation.

Service:  I typically have good service there but can be a bit slow when when they are really busy (which to be honest I have experienced at Michelin rated restaurants), which is not unusual for small establishments like Crux.  The servers are friendly and helpful and food  arrives in an acceptable amount of time.

Overall I have never had a bad experience there and it will continue to be a place I frequent.

Give it a try is all I can recommend!

OpenTable Diner Since 2014  (Philadelphia)·Dined February 2017

Delicious food and great staff. Felt welcome and treated way beyond the normal.

(Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

What a great find! We were looking for a restaurant in this exact neighborhood, and could not have been happier. The chef was very accommodating for a bit of a picky eater, substituting deliciously along the way. A terrific Caesar salad and a beet and goat cheese salad started the meal, followed by a great Rack of Lamb and chicken dish. Coffee and tea were presented in a lovely way, and our dessert that we shared was a yummy carrot cake! Can’t wait to go back!

OpenTable Diner Since 2012  (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Crux is elegant dining in a sit back and enjoy atmosphere. Enjoy delectable French Food in a fun South Jersey location. Beautiful over-sized arched windows look out onto a charming main street America scene complete with a Victorian train station. The staff is very attentive, and you never have to look for someone if you need something; they are always immediately available to serve you throughout your dining experience. Normally I skip desert; but, their dessert menu was all of my favorites, and I couldn’t resist. My favorite part of the evening was the wait staff. I felt like I was having dinner at mom’s house; that’s how much affection and attentiveness they have toward the people dining at Crux. A wonderful experience at Crux! You have to go, and pick up a gift card for a friend! A+

OpenTable Diner Since 2013  (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Crux Cafe is a warm, friendly and comfortable restaurant where dining choices are ample and quality is excellent. We love the opportunity to go BYOB and especially appreciate the use of an Entertainment Book coupon. We have had 4 – 5 meals over the last few years and have never been disappointed. Looking forward to enjoying brunch one day soon!

BRIDAL SHOWER – SUNDAY, JUNE 7TH

My family chose Crux for my bridal shower(which was today) and they did an AMAZING job! Everyone raved about the food and they helped my family set up the shower the night before and the morning of! They were so accommodating and made my day so amazing. I would recommend Crux Cafe to anyone they have amazing staff and the food is seriously out of this world! I will be having my rehearsal dinner there as well 🙂

EVENT IN MAY

We had an event here in May and it was great. Owners were wonderful to deal with, food was delicious The restaurant has a very nice upbeat feel about it. Would definitely revisit.

Dined 2-21-15 – Crux is a little gem

Tucked in Audubon,NJ, this BYOB is well suited for most occasions. Great menu, staff, ambiance and comfortable…all with an Amazing food offer. Prices are very affordable and perfect for a romanric evening, but also great for celebrations, group gathering, or family dinner. In warmer weather, you can dine outside, in a spacious area, without being right on top of traffic (foot or road!). Give it a try, you’ll soon become a regular.

 

Dined 2/14/15 – Fine Dining in Southern New Jersey

Cozy little spot for up to a 6 top, with plenty of room between tables to have a private conversation. The food was excellent and was something you expect from a high end place in the city. I’m telling all my friends and can’t wait to go back.

 

I took my mother for dinner, after receiving the Throwback Thursday menu via e mail. I had my heart set on the beef stroganoff and it did not disappoint!! The cream of mushroom soup was the best I have ever tasted, not too thick, the perfect consistency and flavor. I love to honor the local merchant and glad we have such an awesome dining establishment in Audubon. It was great to see it so full on a week day! Keep up the great work and thank you for another wonderful meal

Dined 12-30-14 – The Food was Fantastic

Chef Joe prepared a special ordered meal for us and it was superb. The bone-in filet was perfect. The onion rings and potatoes and asparagus were delicious. French onion soup is the best we have ever had. Also wonderful scallop appetizer. Coffee at end was special. Don’t do without!

 

Dined 2/19/15 – Throwback Thursday – High Quality Comfort Food

Exceptional food on Throwback Thursday. we were greeted as soon as we entered. The service was top rated, the atmosphere was relaxing, and the food was so much more than we expected.

 

Dined 8/2/14 – A Wonderful Find

We enjoyed a very good meal at this well-run BYOB somewhat off the beaten path. It is a very pretty restaurant and the hostess and waitstaff are friendly, professional and welcoming. The food is very good and served beautifully; potato soup was excellent, tuna and salmon prepared exactly as requested and there is a nice dessert tray as well. Even though 2/3 of the restaurant was occupied by what appeared to be about a thirty person wedding party, the noise level was quite reasonable and our food came out as quickly as could be expected. Very impressive and we will enjoy returning.

Dined 7/25/14 – 5 Star

Food and service – phenomenal. Every course I had was 5 STAR! The owners make you feel like you are home & apart of their family. Flavor profile was SPOT ON! When a Chef cares about his dishes, it shows! My family can not wait to go back and try more!

Dined on 5/18/2014 – Better Each Time
 
Took guests with us who expressed their surprise at the variety and quality of the offerings for brunch . They don’t visit often but will return to this location each time they’re nearby.

Dined 7/25/14 – Can’t Say Enough

I have been going here at least once a month for a year. After our first two visits, the owners and staff remembered our names. That’s a special thing you don’t get everywhere. Food is top notch. There is not one thing I would not recommend, it’s all amazing. If I had to select one dish, I would recommend the duck.

Dined 7/26/14 – We have become regulars

Crux  Cafe is absolutely a neighborhood gem. We have been there for Lunch, brunch and, most recently, dinner. The room is small but quaint. The owners are great, the service is excellent, and the food is outstanding. We would recommend it to anyone…… and we have!

Dined 8/10/14 – Wonderful Brunch

This was our first visit and can not wait to return to this Gem of a restaurant! We felt like we were in Center City with the quality of food, service and ambience! We highly recommend this wonderful restaurant!

Dined 4/4/14 – Chef reaches beyond the norm

We continue to dine at Crux. The prices are extremely reasonable for the quality of the food this kitchen produces. The soups are reliably good and the Chef reaches beyond the norm with some of his specials. We find the base menu to be absolutlely reliable as to quality and taste. The service team is friendly and attentive without being overbearing. We will continue to visit this establishment.

Dined 4/9/14 – Second visit as good as the first

This was my second visit to the Crux Cafe. The decor and ambiance are wonderful. The menu is just right across the board varied choices from the foodie to the plain. The kitchen accommodated the special requests of some of our party. The service was good and the Chef and his wife came around and spoke to us. It was a very enjoyable experience overall. Can’t wait for the outdoor seating to open and looking forward to going back for a Throw back Thursday menu night. I would highly recommend checking them out.

Dined 3/21/14 – Found a Gem

We tried this for SJ Restaurant Week. Unlike many restaurants during this week the food was wonderful and plentiful. Our food was absolutely delicious and prepared very uniquely. We had mussels, french onion soup, filet, salmon , flat bread and fantastic desserts. It is not on a main street but it is definitely worth finding. Don’t miss out. Staff was friendly and the restaurant has been open less than a year. It deserves to stay open and you will be treated to a wonderful meal!

Dined 4/19/14 – Attention to Detail

We had a wonderful dinner on Saturday night at Crux Cafe. The staff couldn’t have been more attentive and we got to meet the chef! Our appetizers and entrees were excellent. We had superb mussels and very fine chowder to begin our meal. Warm bread and seasoned butters preceded the meal There was a lot of attention to details on the meal ingredients and beautiful plate presentations. The prices are inline for fine dining and the fact that the place is BYOB makes it very reasonable. We will certainly be back and plan to tell our friends about this great little treasure tucked away in Audubon, NJ.

 

Dined 3/26/14 – Great Lunch

This was my second time here. First time was for a very enjoyable brunch. This time I was there for lunch. Again it was very good. Very reasonable prices and great selection of lunch items, including a gigantic reuben. Give it a try!

Dined 5/16/17 – New Favorite

Crux has become our favorite place to go, and its a BYO to boot! Chef Stewart has a wonderfully diverse menu;we try different entrees each time we go and never have been disappointed. The service is wonderful and everyone is friendly and accommodating. Can’t wait until our next dining “adventure”.

Dined 4/4/14 – New Go-To

We have been to Crux Café numerous times since its opening. Every time I go, I enjoy it more than the time before. Have had just about everything on the menu, and enjoyed every item. Mussels are divine, the Duck is the incredible, and the Short Ribs are the best ever. Looking forward to my next visit, soon.

Dined 4/25/14 – Fantastic Meal

We live a few blocks from Crux Cafe and can’t believe we didn’t check it our earlier! We had a fantastic meal (I had the duck breast, my husband had the liver & sweetbreads). The service was very good and we will be returning again.

 

Dined 5/17/14 – Second Time Just As Good

We loved this our first visit and we were hopeful that we would not be disappointed when we returned. Menu was different then last visit by a number f items but just as wonderful. Mussels are fantastic as well as hazelnut encrusted shrimp. It was our anniversary and wanted something special and we got it. Will be returning with friends

Dined 4/5/14 – Great Time – Great People

Me and my wife had a wonderful meal and a wonderful time. Food is delicious and the service is wonderful.” Joe AKA Chef Steward came over to the table and made a such a fuss over me and my wife–we felt like we were at home.
This is a diamond in the ruff–parking was easy and we sat right away. Does not have the hustle and bustle of Collingswood–however it has the small town feel to it. We loved it. We will be back.